Shade in moonlight

Leave a comment

June 27, 2013 by Joe Hinojosa

I should know better than to think you’d notice me
No one bothers to see me
Am I really here?
I feel insubstantial, like a wisp of smoke
Like a shade at twilight
Or a dream – quickly forgotten.

I know I should not hold onto you
But I’d only consider you
Perhaps you’re holding me back.
You’re not real, like a desire unfulfilled
A foolish hope misplaced
A chance for love – unrequited.

But it has to be me
A shade in moonlight
Inconsequential
Unperceived
Fading into the depth of night
Never seen – never known
Never loved.

Leave a comment

© Joe Hinojosa and Pensively Lost 2011-2013. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Joe Hinojosa and Pensively Lost, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.